Forming the new ministry area

Forming the new ministry area

Dear friends,

Many of you will be aware of the planned changes to Ministry Areas across the Diocese of Monmouth this year. For us locally, this means that the four parishes in East Cardiff will be joining together to form a new, larger Ministry Area:

  • Cyncoed Ministry Area (All Saints’ Cyncoed, All Saints’ Llanedeyrn, St David’s, St Edeyrn’s)
  • Llanrumney (St Dyfrig’s)
  • Rumney (St Augustine’s)
  • St Mellon’s

Forming this new Ministry Area will enable us to work together more closely, share the resources that we have with one another and discover new opportunities for mission and discipleship, which we would not have been able to realise on our own.

The new Ministry Area is expected to be formally and legally established later this year, and a transition process is now underway. Members of each of our congregations will be invited to input into the key areas of Ministry, Finance and Governance at meetings taking place in the next few weeks, and each individual PCC will be asked to give their feedback on the draft proposals which are developed.

I’m grateful to those who have agreed to be members of the new Ministry Area Transition Team, who will co-ordinate this process. If you have any questions or concerns about the plans, get in touch with one of the team members from your parish who will be able to help:

  • Rhys Collins (All Saints’ Llanedeyrn)
  • Phil Jones (St David’s & St Edeyrn’s)
  • Sue Fergusson (All Saints’ Cyncoed)
  • Sharon Jenkins (Cyncoed Ministry Area Administrator)
  • Pat Charles (St Dyfrig’s)
  • Neil Charles (St Dyfrig’s)
  • Matthew Turner (St Augustine’s)
  • Ian Loynd (St Augustine’s & St Teilo’s CiW High School) 
  • David Mundy (St Mellon’s)
  • Rosemary James (St Mellon’s)

In all of this, as our Bishop, Cherry, has written, ‘We trust God to lead us into the new and shape us for the mission and ministry to which we are called.’

With every blessing

The Revd James Henley,
Ministry Area Leader Designate